How my addiction began….

It was years ago that I tried my first bar of handmade soap. I recall looking on Etsy at all the varieties (many more now) and thinking to myself that I really needed to try one of these. I bought my first bar at around $4-5 a bar. It was a brown sugar scent.

I eagerly awaiting my goodies package and when it did, I was in heaven. It smelled awesome in the package, which I could smell the moment I opened it. If I recall correctly, I took a shower immediately even though it was the middle of the day. I couldn’t believe how amazing it smelled and felt on my skin. I was hooked from that moment on. I immediately knew that this addiction was not going to stop there.

I needed to get more before this bar ran out. I went to my local Bath & Body Works hoping to find another sweet smelling bar of goodness. To my surprise, they did not carry soaps and only body washes. That is not at all what I was looking for. I have tried them on numerous occasions and although they smelled divine, they did and would not compare to a bar of handmade soap.

What was I going to do? I found a new love and had two options. I would either have to continue to buy more online (which would involve me getting another job to handle the costs) or I would have to learn how to do it myself. The latter was what I decided to do, so I began my journey of learning how to make handmade soap.

These are some of my first soaps.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I began with reading books that I had purchased online and doing tons and tons of research. I had to invest in the equipment needed to include a stick blender, molds and all the oils. I went to Lowes and got the sodium hydroxide (lye) and brought it home where it sat for more weeks before that infamous day when I actually made my first soap batch. I was intrigued with the saponification process, which is the process when the oils (acid) and lye (base) turn into soap (salt). Now the hard part was waiting for 4 weeks until it would be ready to use. No problem, I will just make more soap to occupy my time.

I am proud to admit that I am addicted  to making soap and have added other bath and body products to my line. I continue to do research and enjoy every minute of it. I will never go back to commercial soap again. I am truly spoiled and loving every minute of it 🙂

2 thoughts on “How my addiction began….

Leave a Reply

